Map of Burkina Faso


Africa Maps




Map Burkina Faso


Burkina Faso is a country in western Africa, formerly known as Upper Volta. It was a French colony until 1960, when it gained independence. The country took the name Burkina Faso, meaning “land of upright people” in 1985. Burkina Faso is situated in drought-prone grasslands in the heart of western Africa. This landlocked country lies between the Sahara to its north and tropical rain forests to its south. Most of its people, who are known as Burkinabe, live in the southern part of the country, which is densely populated. They live chiefly by farming, despite poor soil and frequent droughts.

Kingdoms established by the Mossi people in what is now Burkina Faso rank among Africa’s oldest kingdoms, and date back hundreds of years. After gaining independence in 1960, the country experienced repeated coups and periods of military rule. Burkina Faso has had a democratic government since a new constitution was introduced in 1991.

Provinces: Soum, Balé, Banwa, Bazega, Houet, Loba, Léraba, Passoré and Sanguié. Border with Benin. The country is bounded on the north and west by Mali, on the east by Niger, and on the south by Benin, Togo, Ghana, and Côte d’Ivoire. Ouagadougou is the capital and largest city.


Countries of the African Continent. Karta, Coğrafi xəritə, Žemielapis, Kort, Karte (Kartografie), Mapo.

Copyright © Geographic Guide - Travel and Tourism






Map of Burkina Faso


Travel Tourism