Map of Bhutan


Bhutan is a country in the eastern Himalayas, landlocked between India and China. During most of its early history, Bhutan was divided into a number of independent principalities located in the major valleys. A unified Bhutan emerged with a dual system of civil and spiritual rule in the 16th century. Since 1907 it has been ruled by a hereditary monarch of the Wangchuck family. Bhutan remained a secluded country until the 1950s. In 1960 the government began to transform the country into a modern nation with economic aid from India. The name Bhutan means “Land of the Thunder Dragon” in Dzongkha, the country’s official language. The capital of Bhutan is Thimphu.


◄ Asia


Map Bhutan


Himalayas and the Everest


Copyright © Geographic Guide - Travel. Asian Continent.


Asia physical Map


Map Asia


Asia Maps




Himalayas and Everest


Maps Asia


Map of Bhutan