Image of the Sahara Desert




Shuttle Radar Topography Mission, Colored Height, NASA


Africa Image


The Sahara (from Arabic sahra, desert) is the largest desert in the planet. It fills almost all of north Africa, covering large parts of Algeria, Chad, Egypt, Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Western Sahara, Sudan and Tunisia. Its highest point is the  Mount Koussi in the Tibesti Mountains (3,415 m) in Chad. The lowest point is in the Qattara Depression in Egypt, 133 meters below sea level. The permanent absence of clouds allows unhindered light and thermal radiation in most part of the desert.




Map african countries


Copyright © Geographic Guide - Geography of Planet Earth.


Africa Maps



Globe Europe


Africa Travel


Africa map


Image of the Sahara Desert