Central America



Central America is a place of many natural paradises. Also, a place of much poverty. The economy is basically based on agriculture and tourism and there is a strong unevenness in the income distribution.

The territory of Central America comprises the continental stretch that binds South America to North America and separates the Pacific Ocean from the Caribbean Sea. It consists of seven countries: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama.

Latin America does not exist.




Map Central America






Costa Rica


A sunset and its reflection create a golden sheen along a Costa Rican shoreline.


Cerro Negro



Native American in El Salvador.




Native american


Eruption of Cerro Negro, in 1948 (U.S. Geological Survey). The active volcano Cerro Negro is located in the Cordillera de los Maribios, in Nicaragua,


Mayan temple in Tikal. Ruin of an ancient city in a rainforest in Guatemala. It is one of the largest archeological sites of the pre-Columbian Maya civilization.


About the Geographic Guide - Travel American Continent.


Map Central America





Belize Central pyramid, the archaeological site of Altun Ha, in Belize.


Before the arrival of Europeans, the Mayan people had lived for centuries in territories of Central America, including the current country of Belize, where the Mayan ruins of Altun Ha can be found.

During the Classic Period of the Mayan civilization, Altun Ha was their main ceremonial center in that region. It also served as a commercial center and a linking to other Mayan centers in the Caribbean coast and the country.

The ruins of Altun Ha consist of two main squares, about 13 temples and some residential structures. Archaeological evidences indicate that the Mayans  had been established in Altun Ha from 200 B.C. until 14th century.


Central America




Geographic Guide