Berlin Wall


Between 1949 and 1990, Berlin was divided into East Berlin, the capital of the German Democratic Republic, and West Berlin. The Berlin Wall was erected by the East German communist government in 1961, physically dividing East Berlin and West Berlin.

The Wall fell in November 9, 1989, after the spokesman for East Berlin’s Communist Party announced that citizens of the GDR were free to cross the country’s borders after midnight that day. The fall of the inner German border took place shortly afterwards. Then, the reunification of Germany took place on October 3, 1990.



The Berlin Wall represented by the yellow line in the image. This simulated natural color ASTER image was acquired on August 22, 2002, and published by NASA.

On the right, ruins of the Wall. Below, another photo of the Berlin Wall before destruction in 1989.


Travel Germany


Berlin Wall


Berlin Wall before destruction in 1989.


◄ Germany


Ruins Wall




Political map Germany



Old Wall


Berlin Wall



Wall old


Copyright © Geographic Guide - Travel Europe.