Luxembourg (Grand Duche de Luxembourg) is a landlocked country in Western Europe, between France and Germany. The capital is Luxembourg.

Founded in 963, Luxembourg became a grand duchy in 1815 and an independent state under the Netherlands. It lost more than half of its territory to Belgium in 1839, but gained a larger measure of autonomy. Full independence was attained in 1867. In 1957, Luxembourg became one of the six founding countries of the European Economic Community.





St. John's Church, 17th century, Luxembourg.


Luxembourg map


Church, Luxembourg




Administrative divisions: 3 districts; Diekirch, Grevenmacher, Luxembourg.

Terrain: mostly gently rolling uplands with broad, shallow valleys; uplands to slightly mountainous in the north; steep slope down to Moselle flood plain in the southeast. Highest point: Buurgplaatz 559 m.

Total area: 2,586 km².

Climate: modified continental with mild winters, cool summers.

Port: Mertert.


Population: 605,764 (July 2018 est.)

Religions: Christian (predominantly Roman Catholic) 70.4%, Muslim 2.3%, other (includes Buddhist, folk religions, Hindu, Jewish) 0.5%, none 26.8% (2010 est.).

Ethnic groups: Luxembourger 52.1%, Portuguese 16%, French 7.6%, Italian 3.6%, Belgian 3.4%, German 2.2%, Spanish 1.1%, British 1%, other 13% (2018 est.).

Languages: Luxembourgish (official administrative and judicial language and national language (spoken vernacular)) 55.8%, Portuguese 15.7%, French (official administrative, judicial, and legislative language) 12.1%, German (official administrative and judicial language) 3.1%, Italian 2.9%, English 2.1%, other 8.4% (2011 est.).

Main source: CIA - The World Factbook.




Château de Vianden, constructed between the 11th and 14th centuries.


Copyright © Geographic Guide - Travel European Continent.


Clervaux, Luxembourg


Château de Vianden



Europe tourism


Clervaux Church.