Moldova is a landlocked country in Eastern Europe, northeast of Romania. The capital is Chisinau.

Formerly ruled by Romania, Moldova became part of the Soviet Union at the close of World War II. It attained independence in 1991 and adopted a new constitution in 1994.





Administrative divisions: 9 counties (judetele, singular - judetul), 1 municipality (municipiul), 1 autonomous territorial unit (unitate teritoriala autonoma), and 1 territorial unit (unitate teritoriala). Counties: Balti, Cahul, Chisinau, Edinet, Lapusna, Orhei, Soroca, Tighina, Ungheni. Municipality: Chisinau. Autonomous territorial unit: Gagauzia. Territorial unit: Stinga Nistrului.

Terrain: rolling steppe, gradual slope south to Black Sea. Highest point: Dealul Balanesti 430 m.

Total area: 33,843 km².

Climate: moderate winters, warm summers.



Population: 3.4 million (2018).

Religions: Orthodox 90.1%, other Christian 2.6%, other 0.1%, agnostic (2014 est.).

Ethnic groups: Moldovan 75.1%, Romanian 7%, Ukrainian 6.6%, Gagauz 4.6%, Russian 4.1%, Bulgarian 1.9%, other 0.8% (2014).

Languages: Moldovan/Romanian 80.2% (official) (56.7% identify their mother tongue as Moldovan, which is virtually the same as Romanian; 23.5% identify Romanian as their mother tongue), Russian 9.7%, Gagauz 4.2% (a Turkish language), Ukrainian 3.9%, Bulgarian 1.5%, Romani 0.3%, other 0.2% (2014 est.).

Main source: CIA - The World Factbook.






Map Moldova




Tipova Village, an Orthodox cave monastery in Moldova (photo UNDP Moldova).


Capriana Monastery (photo UNDP Moldova).







Moldova Monastery









Europe tourism





Copyright © Geographic Guide - Travel European Continent.




Images Moldova