San Marino







Mount Titano (bottom), the highest of the seven hills of San Marino (755 meters high). On the top, the First Tower (Guaita), built between the 11th and 16th centuries as a watch post and shelter (photo Ufficio Stampa Turismo).


Palazzo Pubblico (government palace), built from 1884 to 1894, and restored in 1996 (Ufficio Stampa Turismo).


San Marino map


San Marino



Country name: Republic of San Marino (local: Repubblica di San Marino).

Capital: San Marino.

Government type: independent republic. Constitution: 8 October 1600; electoral law of 1926 serves some of the functions of a constitution.

Independence: 3 September 301.

Administrative divisions: 9 municipalities (castelli, singular - castello); Acquaviva, Borgo Maggiore, Chiesanuova, Domagnano, Faetano, Fiorentino, Monte Giardino, San Marino, Serravalle.

Terrain: rugged mountains, dominated by the Apennines.

Total area: 61.2 km² (about 0.3 times the size of Washington, DC).

Highest point: Monte Titano 755 m.

Climate: Mediterranean; mild to cool winters; warm, sunny summers.



Population: 33,779 (2018).

Religions: Roman Catholic.

Ethnic groups: Sammarinese, Italian.

Language: Italian.

Nationality: Sammarinese (singular and plural).

Main source: CIA - The World Factbook.


Mount Titano, San Marino



San Marino is located in Southern Europe, an enclave in central Italy. It is the third smallest independent state in Europe (after the Holy See and Monaco) also claims to be the world's oldest republic. According to tradition, it was founded by a Christian stonemason named Marinus in 301 A.D. San Marino's foreign policy is aligned with that of Italy. Social and political trends in the republic also track closely with those of its larger neighbor.







Europe tourism




Copyright © Geographic Guide - Travel European Continent.






San Marino