Slovakia is a landlocked country in Central Europe. The capital is Bratislava.

In 1918 the Slovaks joined the closely related Czechs to form Czechoslovakia. After the World War II, Czechoslovakia became a Communist nation within Soviet-ruled Eastern Europe. Soviet influence collapsed in 1989 and Czechoslovakia once more became free. The Slovaks and the Czechs agreed to separate peacefully in 1993. Slovakia (local: Slovenska Republika) joined the EU in 2004.






Bratislava. St. Michel's Tower in the background.



Map Slovakia





Administrative divisions: 8 regions (kraje, singular - kraj); Banskobystricky, Bratislavsky, Kosicky, Nitriansky, Presovsky, Trenciansky, Trnavsky, Zilinsky.

Terrain: rugged mountains in the central and northern part and lowlands in the south. Tatra Mountains in the north are interspersed with many scenic lakes and valleys. Highest point: Gerlachovsky Stit 2,655 m.

Total area: 48,845 km².

Climate: temperate; cool summers; cold, cloudy, humid winters.

Ports and harbors: Bratislava, Komarno.



Population: 5.4 million (2018).

Religions: Roman Catholic 62%, Protestant 8.2%, Greek Catholic 3.8%, other or unspecified 12.5%, none 13.4% (2011 est.).

Ethnic groups: Slovak 80.7%, Hungarian 8.5%, Romani 2%, other 1.8% (includes Czech, Ruthenian, Ukrainian, Russian, German, Polish), unspecified 7% (2011 est.).

Language: Slovak (official) 78.6%, Hungarian 9.4%, Roma 2.3%, Ruthenian 1%, other or unspecified 8.8% (2011 est.).

Main source: CIA - The World Factbook.



Bratislava architecture





Bratislava, Slovakia



Bratislava, capital of Slovakia


Copyright © Geographic Guide - Travel European Continent.




Bratislava, capital of Slovakia.





Europe tourism