Spain (España) is a parliamentary monarchy in the Iberian Peninsula. There are also the autonomous cities of Ceuta and Melilla, in Africa, and 17 autonomous communities including Balearic Islands and Canary Islands, and three small Spanish possessions off the coast of Morocco: Islas Chafarinas, Penon de Alhucemas and Penon de Velez de la Gomera. Madrid is the capital and largest city.

Spain was a powerful empire from the 16th to the 18th centuries. It lost most of its overseas territories in the late 19th and 20th centuries. In the late 20th century, Spain emerged as a prosper European economy.


Map Spain




Museo Bilbao




View of Malaga, in Andalusia, with Plaza de Toros (La Malagueta) in the center (right).



Segovia Cathedral, Spain. Constructed from 1522 to 1577 in late Gothic style, by Juan Gil de Hontanon architect, which is buried inside the cloister. The city of Segovia was added to the World Heritage List in 1985 (left).


Basilica of the Holy Family (Sagrada Familia), in Barcelona, designed by the Catalan architect Antoni Gaudi. Construction began in 1882 (image at right).




Alcázar in Toledo.






Toledo, Spain


Segovia Cathedral, Spain


Museo Guggenheim Bilbao, the largest city in the province of Biscay.


Pictures of Spain



Copyright © Geographic Guide - Travel European Continent.





Europe tourism



Imagens Spain