Italy (Italia) has been a democratic republic since 1946, when the monarchy was abolished by popular referendum. The regional states of the peninsula, along with Sardinia and Sicily, was united in 1861.

The country is divided into 15 regions: Abruzzo, Basilicata, Calabria, Campania, Emilia-Romagna, Lazio, Liguria, Lombardia, Marche, Molise, Piedmont, Puglia, Tuscany, Umbria and Veneto. Additionally, there are the autonomous regions of Friuli Venezia Giulia, Sardinia, Sicily, Trentino-South Tyrol and Aosta Valley. Rome, the capital and largest city of Italy. More: Pictures of Italy


Map Italy


Plaza of Spain




San Giorgio Maggiore Benedictine Monastery, Venice. More Pictures of Italy


Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore, in Florence (Italian Firenze), a city in Tuscany. Florence was originally the site of an Etruscan settlement. The city is world famous for Gothic and Renaissance buildings, art galleries and museums, and parks.


Pictures Italy




Piazza di Spagna, in Rome.


David Florence


Images Italy


Buildings on the shore of Lake Como (Lago di Como) in Western Lombard.


Lake Como


Tourists Viewing David by Michelangelo (1504) in the Galleria dell'Accademia, Florence.


Vatican City


San Giorgio Maggiore


Copyright © Geographic Guide - Travel European Continent.


Mediterranean Sea






Europe tourism