Portugal was the first global power during the 15th and 16th centuries, with territories in four continents. Almost all of its overseas territories were lost by the end of the 20th century. Portugal entered the EC (now the EU) in 1986.

The country has a total area of 92,090 km², including Azores and Madeira Islands. The highest point is Ponta do Pico, in the Azores (2,351 m).

Population: 10.8 million (2017).

The Portuguese Republic has 18 districts and two autonomous regions*: Aveiro, Açores (Azores)*, Beja, Braga, Braganca, Castelo Branco, Coimbra, Evora, Faro, Guarda, Leiria, Lisboa (Lisbon), Madeira*, Portalegre, Porto, Santarem, Setubal, Viana do Castelo, Vila Real and Viseu.


Portugal has a diversified and increasingly service-based economy. The economy grew by more than the EU average for much of the 1990s, but the rate of growth slowed after 2001. The country began circulating the euro in 2002. The Portuguese economy rebounded after 2015.

More: History of Portugal

Geography and Economy



◄ Portugal



Farol Museu de Santa Marta, Casa de Santa Maria (left) and the Museu-Biblioteca Condes de Castro Guimarães, in Cascais (Lisbon metropolitan area).




The charming Coimbra, a historic city in Portugal. Its University is one of the oldest in the world, founded in 1290.

Portugal became the first global empire, in the late 15th century, with many and large territories in four continents. The Portuguese navigators developed the best technology at that time to cross the oceans.


Map Portugal





The Flag of Portugal has two vertical bands of green (two-fifths, hoist side) and red (three-fifths). The Portuguese coat of arms centered on the dividing line.







Ponta de São Lourenco, the easternmost point of the island of Madeira, Portugal.


Praia da Rocha, in Algarve, southern Portugal.




Copyright © Geographic Guide - Portugal, Travel Europe.


Images Portugal


Geography and Economy


Rui Cunha / Turismo Cascais