What is now Ecuador was part of the northern Inca Empire until the Spanish conquest in 1533. Quito became a seat of Spanish colonial government in 1563 and part of the New Granada in 1717. It remained a Spanish colony until 1822, when a federation known as Gran Colombia was formed, after it gained their independence. The Republic of the Equator was created in 1830, when Quito withdrew from Gran Colombia.

The country has a diverse population composed of people of European, Native American, and African descent. It also includes the Galápagos Islands in the Pacific Ocean, about 965 km west of the mainland.


Map Ecuador


South America



Map Quito


Iglesia de San Francisco (16th century) at the Historic Center of Quito.


Iglesia Quito



Guayaquil as seen from the Cerro Santa Ana, an historic city in the Pacific coast.




Ministry of Tourism of Ecuador



Copyright © Geographic Guide - Travel American Continent.


Images Ecuador


Travel America