Mount Rushmore


Faces of four Presidents of the United States of America (George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln and Theodore Roosevelt) were sculpted on Mount Rushmore in the Black Hills, Pennington County, South Dakota. Sculptor Gutzon Borglum was responsible for the design and the colossal sculptures were executed from 1927 to 1941. Nearly three million people visit Mount Rushmore National Memorial each year.


Mount Rushmore



United States



Visitors Center






Mount Rushmore before carving. Gutzon Borglum picked this mountain because the grain of the rock was suitable for carving and the mountain faced southeast, receiving the sun for much of the day (photo Rise Studios).



Mount Rushmore after a snow storm (NPS Photo).


US Map


George Washington Monument




Copyright © Geographic Guide - Travel United States, North America. Historical Heritage.


New York 18th century




Presidents Mount Rushmore


Loong Room historic

The historic Long Room at Fraunces Tavern, in the City of New York, where George Washington took leave of his officers in 1783, after the Independence War.


Mount Rushmore from the Iron Mountain Road.


Above, Mount Rushmore in the Black Hills.

Below, view from the Visitor Center, with the Avenue of Flags.


Washington Square Arch


Liberty Poles New York


NY Street Scenes


Museum SD


Glacier National Park


Black Hills



Museum at the Visitor Center.


Mount Rushmore




Tourist Attraction SD


View of the sculpture from the Sculptor's Studio area.









NPS Photo